Here in the hospital again

Hello strangers! I over did it last week. Too many patients and wore myself down. On Thursday, I started hurting all over and my breasts were swollen that evening. I was running a fever. I went to bed and woke up worse but had rescheduled patients for Friday that had already been rescheduled from DCIS surgery. So took my Tylenol, put on my big girl panties and went in. Saw my first patient for psych testing and second one was a no show. I called my surgeon and nurse told me to come in.

The nurse took a look at the left breast biopsy site which by this time looked engorged from trying to dry out from breast feeding and called the doctor for a script of Bactim. I was told to use the heating pad and hot showers and rest. Okay went home and stayed calm watching TV. My daughter came home and I decided to bathe while she could stay with the dogs. (Yes my mix and Newfoundland are equally rascally if left alone. They could be another inspiration for another blog.) When I disrobe, I see this small black scab over the biopsy site just asking me to pick it off. So I did. Whoa! This dark syrupy blood/ pus fountain begins oozing out all over me, the floor, my hands. I scramble for some tissue and that gets soaked. I grab a bath towel and catch it. When it stopped I expressed as much as I could which was quite a bit. Miracle, some of the swelling went down. Praise God! So I shower and then more comes out. After cleaning the bathroom with Clorox and bag and throw the infectious towel away, I lay back down.

Fever was lower, but still there. I took the Bactrim as prescribed. By Saturday, after a I continued to express yucky fluid every couple of hours, I still had reddening and swelling. So I decide to consult my step sister, who is a nurse and EMT on how to make a warm compress. We messaged and she tells me to go to the hospital. An infection like that should be treated with IV antibiotics. That made me nervous. I wake and tell my husband. He tells me to call the doctor. I do and doctor told me to continue on bactrim and lay flat on my back till late afternoon and if not better, go to the surgical hospital to be admitted. My sweet husband Jason took a Sharpie and dotted a tattoo of the outer boundaries of redness.

Did as doctor ordered. Fever went down with bactrim but redness was an inch passed all marked boundaries. We went to the hospital. I was admitted and given penicillin and clendomycin IV. This was the first time I tried penicillin since I was supposed to be allergic to it. Yippee! No reaction. By Sunday redness was receding and the swelling was going away.

I was blessed to have my husband with me through those scary hours of whether I was going to go into anaphylaxis or not. Thank you Jesus and Jason for being there. I was blessed by family and friends who came to so me and make me laugh. To my sister and brother-in-law, thank you for keeping my daughter. I greatly appreciate that. God bless you. And to my mother, thank you for babysitting those dogs! Love you all.

Now waiting to see if doctor will let me go home. Prayers again please. God bless.

Leave a Reply

